Revival of a Dream

In X-Wing 1.0 I played nothing but Scum. As 2.0 started, these were the first pilots I put to the table:

Fenn Rau, Old Teroch and Palob Godalhi. The list was really strong back then. I even won my first tournament with it so it will always has a special place in my heart.

But the meta changed, Palob/Moldy Crow got more expensive and I put the list aside.

Now it’s time to bring it back to the table with some new tools available.

Fenn Rau (68)
Fearless (3)

Ship total: 71 Half Points: 36 Threshold: 2

Old Teroch (56)
Fearless (3)

Ship total: 59 Half Points: 30 Threshold: 2

Palob Godalhi (40)
Debris Gambit (4)
Zam Wesell (4)
Thermal Detonators (3)
False Transponder Codes (2)
Moldy Crow (16)

Ship total: 69 Half Points: 35 Threshold: 3

Total: 199

Actually I think the list isn’t that good but I am still loving it.

Palob got lots of upgrades. Debris Gambit and the Title are the most important imo. The evade really helps Palob to stay on the board longer. False Transponder Codes are a decent defensive or offensive tool. Thermal Det. are really cheap for being able to drop 4 bombs in two rounds. I wanted to try Zam Wesell crew. Zam sounds ok on paper because Palob gets a free lock after he defends and maybe even a bonus attack later on (which can be pretty strong because Palob usually has lots of mods).

Played against Zam Wesell (Firespray) + 4 Drones (with Struts and Energy Shells)

Palobs ability is pretty much useless in this game.

I really should kill Zam fast if possible because she’s really expensive and annoying.

I sent Fenn in pretty aggressive and kept the other two ships in the back to attack later.

Fenn banked the upcoming round dealing 3 damage to Zam. Zam attacked Fenn twice using her ability. Fenn took 1 damage (because he’s awesome at range 1).

My opponent really suprised me by moving Zam along the board edge. Nevertheless Teroch was able to barrel roll and attack her. Poor Palob rolled 4 blanks taking 3 damage with a loose stabilizer… Zam triggered and Palob locked green. I really thought that Palobs gonna die next round so I dialed in a 1 straight to kill at least a Drone. I mean my opponent can attack Palob with 4 ships the upcoming round if he wants to.

But he split his forces. Terochs ability works with calculate tokens as well. Fang Fighters hit pretty hard with Focus+Fearless at range 1.

Palob dropped 2 Thermal Dets. Both hit Zam who suffered 1 damage. Fenn evaded the incoming fire.

Now Teroch will attack Zam who has 5 hp left. The 2 turn right should fit… while Palob and Fenn will deal with those Drones.

Teroch fit stripping off both focus tokens of Zam. Zam attacked twice using her ability again for 1 damage. Zam survived with 2hp remaining. Palob locked yellow and killed it. My opponents dice were cold and Palob survived the incoming shot.

I thought Zam will 2-3 bank right and boost left through the rocks. So I dialed in a 3 turn to the left for Teroch to stay at range 1 with a boost or barrel roll. If Teroch kills Zam the game is over.

But Zam bumped and Teroch had no shot. Fenn dealt 1 damage to brown.

Time to disengage with Teroch. The turn in seemed to risky…

The next round can decide the game. My opponent can kill both Fenn and Teroch while I can kill Zam and a Drone.

My opponents dice were really bad. Fenn got blocked but rolled 2 natural hits against Zam. Zam just needed a single symbol on one of her dice but blanked out. Teroch rolled 3 hits and killed the Drone. My opponent conceded.

Conclusion:

The list is still a joy to fly. But the game could have gone the other way if my opponents dice were a bit better. His Energy Shells didn’t do a single damage this game.

Teroch MVP! His ability won me the game.

Zam Crew is not worth it on Palob. I wasn’t able to use the bonus attack. But still Palob is really cool even if he blanked out horribly. Especially the Thermal Detonators were pretty strong for only 3 points.

I am still struggling about the right Palob build…(L337 is a strong option as well). How would you load him out?

6 comments

  1. I player this list for a long time at the start of 2.0 where I had L337, seismics and Debris gambit stapeled on Palob. That evade combined with L337s ability really made him tough. I also had shield upgrade on him (cause he was so much cheaper back then). That gave me a huge bid too, but I stopped playing the list as SFs and A-wings with back arcs really made life hard for fangs and jedis with force reduced the usage of Palob and Terochs abilities. I’d love to see this list revived.

    Like

    • Yeah, L337 is great but I also want to have a bid. Bombs are strong as well. My original list had 190 pts. back then…
      I always put Fearless on my fangs because I like the flavor of this card on Fangs.

      I thinks dropping False Transponder Codes for L337 could be the right choices. This would still give me a 3 point bid…but I also like the Codes for the 5 point bid…AAAAAH!

      Like

  2. A couple of locals were running Palob like this:

    New Squadron

    (40) Palob Godalhi [HWK-290 Light Freighter]
    (6) Lando Calrissian
    (6) Stealth Device
    (4) Debris Gambit
    (16) Moldy Crow
    Points: 72

    Total points: 72

    He’s super tanky with focus focus evade + stealth device and has offensive punch with lando giving rerolls

    Like

Leave a comment