Actis Aces vs. FO Aces

I really think the 3 ETA version is better than flying only Obi and Anakin. Everytime I put these two on the table my brain is melting.

Anakin Skywalker (Eta-2) (56)
Brilliant Evasion (2)
Predator (2)
Stealth Device (8)

Obi-Wan Kenobi (Eta-2) (49)
Sense (5)
Predator (2)
Stealth Device (8)

Aayla Secura (51)
Brilliant Evasion (2)
Predator (2)
Stealth Device (8)

Total: 195

The third ship helps a lot because the damage output when flying only 2 ships is pretty much non existent. You have to rely on the Autoblaster to kill something. On the other hand losing a ships feels really bad because it’s hard to get ahead in the damage race if you have to kill 80+ points. If you lose a ship in this squadron it’s manageable to still win the game. Predator also helps with the damage output while Sense, Aaylas ability and Brilliant Evasion boosts your defense.

I played a game vs Rush, Kylo and Vonreg. We both had 195 points. My opponent won the initiative roll and gave me initiative which was already really big for him. On the other hand this is a good learning opportunity because I have to move after the enemy ships.

The ETA’s dodged everything, so did my opponent. Obi sensed Kylo’s 5 straight. So Anakin didn’t use IC.

Kylo was able to barrel roll. Aayla took no damage with all of her mods. She rolled 4 hits vs. Kylo who nattied out taking only 1 damage. But I was able to half Rush.

At this game state you can start running and play super defensive if you want. But I wanted to stay aggressive.

Because of Rush is an I6 now, the game became even harder. Nevertheless I was able to block Vonreg and half him as well. Kylo blanked once and lost his last shield.

Note to self: At this point with only 25 minutes left on the clock: RUN! Don’t take any risks!

I still engaged and played pretty aggressive, though. But that was ok because I wanted to see what Aces are able to do against the ETA.

This is the board state of the last round. Anakin 3 banked and landed in this spot. As I mentioned earlier, disengaging would have been the correct decision here. But here’s Anakins chance 🙂 He had to do 1 damage to Kylo to win the game even if he dies. I rolled 3 hits and Kylo was able to evade everything (Kylo’s taking nothing with 13%). Anakin goes booom! Game

Conclusion:

I was really happy with this game. Despite the fact that my opponent moved his ships after mine, I did fairly well. I was up on points for the most time. So if you’re facing high agility aces, your win condition is to half something and run or stay defensive. With the help of sense and all your defensive mods it’s definetely a matchup you can win. Even my aggressive playstyle nearly resulted in a win (if Anakin could have done 1 point of damage 🙂 )

And my opponent played really well btw.

Leave a comment