X-Wing 2020 – a year in review and my current situation

In 2020 I played as much X-Wing as never before. With the Covid Lockdown TTS became more popular for X-Wing players. 2 years ago I had to wait a long time to find someone to play with online. Now it’s super easy. Just ask some players in discord and have fun togehter. Works every day!

I met a ton of new people and made new friends which wouldn’t have happened without TTS and the opportunity to play online. (shoutout to all the guys supporting/updating the TTS X-Wing mod)

I definitely improved as a player. With Guri/Fenn alone I played over 100 games. Combining this with all the other matches I had, I played nearly 300 games which is insane. All those games against different opponents made me a better X-Wing player for sure. The Battle Reports I did helped a lot as well. (and your feedback!)

I participated at 8 tournaments and in 2 online leagues. I won 4 of these tournaments and made cut in both leagues. Therefore the numbers are looking pretty good: I won 39 and lost only 10 games (in all tournaments + leagues). Guri/Fenn became my favorite list of all time and I will never forget these two pilots who mean so much to me.

So all in all it was a pretty successful X-Wing year for me.

But I am not good at the moment. The fact that I played so many games and invested so much time into this game made my head spin. I started to think of X-Wing all the time. All my thoughts and emotions went into it. I mean I have a lovely wife and a son and started to feel uncomfortable when our little family was doing something together and I was thinking about X-Wing all the time…

We spent Christmas and New Year’s Eve together with my mum and her husband. We went for some walks where I was pretty quiet because I thought about upcoming tournaments, some lists and so on. I think it was the first time where I really recognized that and started to think about it. It made me sad. And I am gonna have to change that because family is what really matters these days. X-Wing will come to an end at some point in the near future for sure.

Therefore I will only play 1-2 casual games a week. I will also not participate at any tournaments in the near future which means that I’ll skip the Unofficial German Grand Championship. I am organizing a small monthly tournament and will continue to do so. This blog and you guys mean a lot to me so I will definitely continue writing about X-Wing. But I won’t post 1-2 battle reports a week.

Writing this felt good!

Thanks for your support.

Stay safe!

Sebastian

2 comments

  1. I totally understand where you are coming from writing this. While I am nowhere near playing the amount of games you have done, a lot of my free time is based around X-wing and that will sometimes come at odds with the family. Prioritizing like you do now is the only right thing to do, and I applaud you for doing it. That said, I will miss your bat reps immensly as yours are the best I`ve read and they have thought me a lot. I hope to be able to pick your brains even of you step back for a while. Wishing you all the best brother 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment